Slideaway

There are moments in our life that seems to lasts forever but in reality happens for a split seconds.  Movies and tv shows, described this moment in slow motion just to stress out that moment.  Realistic or not?

Not.

Last Friday, 21 June, a rainy Friday afternoon, I donned my slippers and kept my shoes. I was extra careful with my steps because of the slippery flooring and the fact that my slippers dont have grip on wet floors.  I kept reminding my friend to mind her steps when we arrived on Magallanes station.  We decided to have a round trip because of the number of commuters ascending the stairs with us.  From the moment we ascend on the station, I got a little anxious, I kept walking along the hand rail to have some anchorage because as I suspected the floor was slippery.  I was doing find by the way, although a little slow but atleast I was able to stay vertical.  Its funny how the saying “it goes downhill from here” applies when we descend the stairs to the station.  The line of commuters was positioned on the middle of the stairs – I am in trouble!  Imagine how careful I am, how I watch my steps and how I try to keep up to prevent the commuters to overtake me – the slow one.  I almost made it, it was on the last step to the floor that made me slide! Oh boy, and there was no slow motion either.  It happened so fast, one moment I’m vertical and the next I’m on my back and people are trying to help me up.  It was so embarrassing, what with the commotion I made, atleast it was over soon.  Its like, it happened on the blink of the eye, so fast that I even forgot to thank the guys who help me to get upright.  The only thing that didn’t happen fast enough was the healing of the bruises I sustained on the incident.

I never want to experience that again, I need a change of footware.  Only solution I can think of right now.   Inretrospect, atleast I got down alone this time – no innocent commuters are harm because of my clumsiness.

Leave a Reply

